Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Description- Navarasa means nine emotions, these include Shringara (love), Hasya (laughter), Karuna (kind-heartedness or compassion), Raudra (anger), Veera (courage), Bhayanaka (terror), Bheebhatsya (disgust), Adbutha (surprise), and Shantha (peace or tranquility). Each rasa signifies a certain state of aesthetic consciousness. Through this walk we will be demonstrating each rasa while sharing mythological stories associated with each of the nine emotions.

The walk will take place within the premises of the eclectic Crafts Museum, so while our expert gives you a guided tour of the museum you will also be introduced to the very backbone of Natyashatra (ancient encyclopedic treatise on the arts).

Get ready to bulge your eye balls and twist your brows!

How to Reach:

  • Crafts Museum is opposite the Bhairon Mandir and near Pragati Maidan. See the map for location- https://goo.gl/maps/C12RMUffVWB2
  • Closest metro station is Pragati Maidan on the blue line and Jor Bagh on the yellow line. Take an auto from either of these metro stations.
  • If you are coming via road, parking is available outside the Bhairon Mandir.

About the walk Expert:

Madhavi Menon is a passionate storyteller and theater artist. She has worked over 3 decades in area of primary education and cultural awareness. She is part-time announcer with All India Radio, puppetry trainer, educationist and trained Kathakali, Chau dancer as well as a Hindustani classical singer. She is one of the co-founders of Darwesh and heads the Content team.


Date- 24 Mar 9:45AM – 12:00PM

Venue- National Handicrafts & Handlooms Museum Bhairon Marg, Pragati Maidan, New Delhi, Delhi 110001